Texas Rescue Competition, Inc. Annual Spring General and Board Meeting

12 April 2003 Lake Whitney State Park

Board members present:

Greg Higgins, Darrell Carrothers, Terry Wyatt, Stan Irwin and Penny (Hale) Ball.

Members present:

Kris Kern, Les Wyatt, Eric Wyatt, Robin and Harold Scott, Jeff Towers, Lloyd Turnbull and Joe Mobley.

There being a quorum of the Board and members present, the meeting was called to order at 1420 by President Greg Higgins.

Review of previous minutes:

Penny (Hale) Ball reviewed the minutes from the Fall meeting 13 October 2002.

Motion to accept the minutes as read by Terry Wyatt, seconded by Stan Irwin. Motion passed.

President's Report:

Nothing to report at this time.

Treasurer's Report:

Treasurer Stan Irwin states that there is \$1368.15 in the account with no outstanding bills at this time

Other Reports:

Greg Higgins received the 2002 tax report paperwork on 9 April 2003. Penny (Hale) Ball will complete and return to the State.

Old Business:

Greg Higgins created a brochure for the TRC, Inc. competition last October. He mailed Monty Strange (Austin FD) approximately 100 that were displayed at the State EMS Conference in Austin last November. To date, there has been no response.

Comments from the teams' evaluations were reviewed and will be passed on to the planning committee for their use in planning of the 2003 competition.

New Business:

Greg Higgins asked that the membership consider purchasing the logo that has been used on the Stan Irwin Sportsmanship Award from "Awards By Wilson.com" for use by the organization on brochures, paperwork and clothing. The log would be copyrighted to TRC, Inc and would cost approximately \$50.00. Stan Irwin made motion to have Greg Higgins purchase the logo and allocate the funds to reimburse him. Seconded by Darrell Carrothers. Motion passed.

Greg Higgins asked the membership about the possibility of incorporating digital means to facilitate voting. It was decided that no action would be taken at this time after discussion among the membership.

Former Board member Dan Dittfurth had contacted President Greg Higgins last month and inquired if the organization would be willing to use their non-profit status to host a bingo parlor as a fundraising activity. Discussion ensued and it was determined that this was a moot point after the State Legislature deemed this activity illegal.

By-law Changes:

Greg Higgins pointed out that there is a conflict with term limits for Board members and the Officers under the By-laws. Currently, the entire Board is elected every three (3) years and then the Board elects the officers of the Board. The President and Treasurer serve three (3) year terms and the Vice-President and Secretary serve two (2) year terms. The fifth Board member serves a three (3) year term. Therefore, the Vice-President and Secretary only serve one (1) year of the two (2) year term if they are elected during the middle of their three (3) year term. Stan Irwin made a motion to hold Board elections on a yearly basis during the Fall meeting. Seconded by Terry Wyatt. Motion passed.

Amendments to the By-laws must be made public for comment and then be voted upon during the next regularly scheduled meeting of the Organization. During the Fall meeting at Garner State Park, the membership will vote on the changes to the By-laws that reads:

Elections, Terms, Resignations or Removal from the Board:

There will be five (5) Directors elected by the general membership at the Fall meeting beginning in the year 2004 and every year thereafter. Term of office will be from November 1 through November 1 of the following year. The Board will be elected by the general membership. A member of the organization is any person with a vested interest.

Meetings

Time and Place:

The Board of Directors will meet semi-annually, once in April (Spring meeting) at a time and place to be decided by the President of the Board and in October (Fall meeting) on the Thursday before the competition. Notice of each meeting will be sent via mail or e-mail to each Director, notice placed on the official TRC, Inc. website, the e-mail address of the current team captains and to any members requesting notice. Any member may attend.

President

The President of the Board is responsible for scheduling and presiding over each meeting and other duties as determined by the Board. He/she will coordinate with the other Directors to organize and delegate responsibilities for the annual Rescue Competition. The term of office is one (1) year and the number of consecutive terms that may be served is two (2).

Vice-President

It shall be the duty of the Vice-President to fulfill the office of the President in his/her absence. He/She will be responsible for the appointment of the members to the Grievance Committee. He/She will work closely with the President in he organization and operation of the annual Rescue Competition. The term of office is one (1) year and the number of consecutive terms that may be served is two (2).

Secretary

It shall be the duty of the Secretary to keep and maintain all records of the Texas Rescue Competition, Incorporated. An accurate record of each meeting will be kept on file and will be sent to each Director and to any member that requests a copy. Minutes will also be posted to the official website. The term of office is one (1) year and the number of consecutive terms that may be served is two (2).

Treasurer

It shall be the responsibility of the Treasurer to keep and maintain all financial records of the Texas Rescue Competition, Incorporated. The Treasurer will make timely payment of all debts owed and will coordinate with the President on all purchases. A Treasurers' report will be given at each meeting and will be entered into the official minutes of the meeting. The term of office is one (1) year and the number of consecutive terms that may be served is unlimited.

Election of Board Members:

The term of office for the entire Board of Directors is up at this meeting. The floor was open for nominations and the following were nominated:

Penny (Hale) Ball Darrell Carrothers Greg Higgins Stan Irwin Kris Kern Robin Scott Lloyd Turnbull Terry Wyatt

Motion that nominations cease made by Terry Wyatt. Robin Scott and Lloyd Turnbull declined their nomination. Elections were conducted by secret ballot and the results were:

Penny (Hale) Ball - 8 Darrell Carrothers - 11 Greg Higgins - 12 Stan Irwin - 11 Kris Kern - 8 Terry Wyatt - 10

A run-off election between Penny (Hale) Ball and Kris Kern was held with Penny (Hale) Ball receiving the majority of the votes.

Immediately after the vote, the new Board of Directors elected the following as Officers of the Board:

Darrell Carrothers – President Greg Higgins – Vic-President Stan Irwin – Treasurer Penny (Hale) Ball – Secretary Terry Wyatt – Member at Large

Other Discussion:

Stan Irwin advised the Board that an increase in the competition fee maybe needed in the future. No action needed at this time.

Lloyd Turnbull suggested that a new equipment demonstration or other activity could be used as a fundraiser to offset costs. It was pointed out that the fee included CE hours for each participant that competed and filled out an evaluation. This benefit alone exceeds the cost of the entry fee.

The 2003 Competition Planning meeting will be held 19-20 July 2003 at the Scott residence at Canyon Lake.

News and Announcements:

The 2003 competition will be held 10-11 October 2003 at Garner State Park.

There will be a group going down to Garner State Park the weekend of 26 April 2003 to recon the site and damage from last year.

Date and Location of Next Meeting:

Thursday, 9 October 2003 at 1900 hours at Garner State Park.

Adjournment:

There being no more business before the Board, a motion by Lloyd Turnbull to adjourn was made and the meeting closed at 1608.